First explored by the Spaniards in the 16th century and then settled by the English in the mid-17th century, Suriname became a Dutch colony in 1667. With the abolition of slavery in 1863, workers were brought in from India and Java. Independence from the Netherlands was granted in 1975. Five years later the civilian government was replaced by a military regime that soon declared a socialist republic. It continued to exert control through a succession of nominally civilian administrations until 1987, when international pressure finally forced a democratic election. In 1990, the military overthrew the civilian leadership, but a democratically elected government - a four-party coalition - returned to power in 1991. The coalition expanded to eight parties in 2005 and ruled until August 2010, when voters returned former military leader Desire BOUTERSE and his opposition coalition to power. (© CIA Factbook)

2,5 Gulden - P119a

25 Gulden - P127b

10 Gulden - P137b

25 Gulden - P138a

5 Gulden - P146

10 Gulden - P147

25 Gulden - P148

100 Gulden - P149

500 Gulden - P150

1000 Gulden - P151

5000 Gulden - P152

10000 Gulden - P153
Steven | Monday 30 January 2012 at 3:02 pm