French Pacific Territories get new banknotes in 2014

Wallis and FutunaFrench PolynesiaNew CaledoniaIt's not every day we hear news from the French Pacific Territories. The special collectivities of France are a group of island nations in the Pacific and its banknotes are issued by the Institut d'Emission d'Outre-Mer (IEOM). The Territories consist of French PolynesiaNew Caledonia and Wallis and Futuna. The design of the banknotes hadn't changed much since 1969 but that is about to change. The IEOM has announced that new banknotes with a brand new design will be issued from 20 January 2014. 

The colorful new banknotes will show elements from the islands' cultural and natural heritage. They will be issued in denominations of 500, 1000, 5000 and 10,000 francs. The old and new notes will circulate side by side for a very limited time until 30 September 2014. From 1 October 2014 only the new notes will be legal tender. 

> Flyer with more information
> Video with information about the security features

500 francs

1000 francs

5000 francs

10,000 francs

Steven Dinsdag 22 Oktober 2013 at 08:28 am | | news
Gebruikte Tags: ,
These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and discover new web pages.
  • Digg
  • Google
  • Reddit
  • StumbleUpon
  • Twitter

Geen reacties

(optioneel veld)
(optioneel veld)
To prove you're not a robot, answer this simple question.

Reactiemoderatie staat aan op deze site. Dit betekent dat je reactie niet zichtbaar zal zijn, tot deze is goedgekeurd door een beheerder.

Persoonlijke info onthouden?
Kleine lettertjes: Alle HTML-tags behalve <b> en <i> zullen uit je reactie worden verwijderd. Je maakt links door gewoon een URL of e-mailadres in te typen.